My AWS Adventure: The AWS Community Day, Jaipur Experience

My AWS Adventure: The AWS Community Day, Jaipur Experience

Exploring AWS, Making Connections, and Scoring Cool Swag in AWS Community Day, Jaipur

ยท

7 min read

Hey ๐Ÿ‘‹, In this blog I am going to talk about my experiences at the AWS Community Day Jaipur event, what are the things I learned from the event and also the networking part. Btw I am also going to talk about the foods and swags in the event so stay till the end ๐Ÿ˜.

Before going to tell about my experiences let's talk about what is AWS and an AWS Community Day. And if you already know it then you can freely skip this section.

What is AWS?

AWS (Amazon Web Services) is an IaaS (Infrastructure as a Service) platform that gives its infrastructure to the user to use on a pay-as-you-go plan basis. AWS provides various services to be utilized by many developers, founders and entrepreneurs. Through AWS you don't have to buy a real server, you just have to pay for the amount of resources you use. It the most successful and popular cloud provider around the world for so many decades. ๐ŸŒŽ

What is AWS Community Day?

AWS Community Day is an event organised by AWS community builders around the globe to give knowledge of AWS, its various services and certification knowledge. In this event, many tech leaders, industry experts, developers, and students come and join. Through this event, we connect with like-minded people and share knowledge.

This event was also an AWS Community Day Event organized in Jaipur.

Now I will talk about my experiences and learning from the event.

My Experience and learnings

As this was the first event ever that I attended the feel and experience were awesome like at the top level. When I entered the event I got relief since I was travelling for 3 hours. โฐ

After entering through the gate I saw so many students already there waiting for the event to start and then my excitement reached its peak level. ๐Ÿ’ฏ

Then after a while community members started to distribute the entry cards and bands.

And then we took our seats and waited for the event to start.

Then finally the event started with lamp lighting by Mrs Bhuvaneswari Subramani (a true luminary in Tech, AWS Devtools Hero, and Chief Cloud Evangelist, at Intuitive Cloud). Honestly, the lamp lighting reminded me of my school days. ๐Ÿซ

Then the event started with a talk by Mrs Bhuvaneswari Subramani. She talked about her 24 years of experience in this field. She talked about her journey to become an AWS Devtools Hero and more. The talk was very inspirational and motivating.

Then there was a very exciting talk by Mr Abhishek Gupta on a very interesting and currently booming topic, which is Generative AI. Of course, it is one of my favourite things I mean who doesn't like Gen-AI? He explains how one can use AWS Bedrock to implement Gen-AI capabilities into their project with just a few lines of code. Isn't it amazing? He also showed some live demos by generating some texts through AWS Bedrock and some by generating images.

After this exciting session, there was a very important talk by Mrs Disha Babla on the topic of various AWS certification exams. She talks about how one can prepare for the certification exam. She also mentioned the AWS skill builder website from where one can prepare for the exams. Btw I am already learning from AWS Skill Builder and it is quite good. The things that mam talks about are very informative and crucial for everyone.

Then there was a talk by Mr Jones Zachariah Noel N on the topic of serverless with AWS. He explained all the concepts of serverless with AWS lambda and there was another technology that he talked about, which I forgot ๐Ÿ™. But the talk was amazing. ๐Ÿ”ฅ

Then there was a lunch after that we again went to the auditorium and the event resumed after some time.

๐Ÿ’ก
Check out the foods and swags section to know what was in the lunch. ๐Ÿคค ๐Ÿฅ—

After lunch, there was a talk by Mr Amit Kumar on the topic of CI/CD (Continuous Integration and Continuous Deployment) at Scale. I liked the talk of this person. The way he spoke and the personality of him was just incredible. He explained how continuous integration and continuous deployment can help you to better maintain software products. He explained in a great way what continuous integration and continuous deployment are. I enjoyed and learned lots of things from this talk.

Then there was a talk by Mr Dheeraj Choudhary on the topic of AWS CodeWhisperer. He explains everything about Code Whisperer, which is a code companion to help you write your code in a 57% faster way and an industry-standard way. He explains how AWS CodeWhisperer can help you write your code in an IDE to make your development faster. He also showed a live demo on this very exciting topic and surely I will be adapting this code companion thing in my daily coding life.

After this wonderful talk, there was a talk by Mr Ashish Tiwari on the topic of AWS Elastic Search. This talk just reveals how actually search engines understand the meaning of our search even if I type something wrong. He explains how one can integrate this feature with their search engines by using AWS Elastic Search. He also showed some demos by comparing a normal search engine and a search engine powered by Elastic Search. ๐Ÿ”Ž

Then finally there was a Panel Discussion between the community leaders and other developers, where Aditya Soni was the judge and other panel members were Seema Saharan, Abhineet Saxena, Sachin Sharma, Ritu Soni, Gargee Bhatnagar. The panel discussion was just fun and awesome. Learned a lot of things from there. Everyone answers certain important questions like "Is DSA still needed after getting a job?", "How to became AWS ambassador" etc. Overall I loved the panel discussion and also liked the jokes about "Bhupendra Jogi" and "Bangan" ๐Ÿ† by Abhineet Saxena sir. ๐Ÿ˜‚

Then there was a talk by Mr Nitin Sharma on the topic of Security patterns with AWS IAM. It was also a great talk. I learned about how one can get into your AWS account without your consent and how to prevent that. ๐Ÿง‘๐Ÿฝโ€๐Ÿ’ป

And at the last, there were extra swag giveaways for social media contests, meme contests and others. Also the speakers and teach leaders are felicitated in Rajasthani style. Then there was a cutting of the cake. ๐Ÿฅฎ

And then we took some group photos, which I didn't get till now. ๐Ÿ˜•

So overall my experience with this event was great. I learned lots of things from this event. The community leaders and speakers are very motivating. I am just waiting for the next event to come so that I can join the event.๐Ÿ˜

Networking

Through the event, I networked with many other folks who are also enthusiastic about the cloud and curious about new software engineering technologies that are coming up.

Being an introvert I talk less with people but this time I talked a lot. Maybe because I have some like-minded people around me. Whatever the reason I liked it very much. I think through this I can improve my communication skills and connect with more like-minded people.

Foods and Swags

Foods foods foods !!!!! we all love it. Right? At this event, we got some delicious food. First of all, we got some breakfast with Poha, Bhujia, Samosa and Coffee.

For lunch, we got Salad, Papar, Panner, fried rice, Naan, Roti, Mix Veg, Dal, Gulab Jamun and Ice Cream. The pictures of the food are here:

Now if you are curious about the swag then it was like I got an AWS t-shirt ๐Ÿ‘•, got two premium GitHub stickers, and some other stickers as well.

Here is the snapshot of the swags ๐Ÿ‘• that I got:

And lastly, we got a Red Bull because we all know that Red Bull gives us wings. ๐Ÿชฝ

Conclusion

In a nutshell, the event was super amazing. This was one of my best experiences ever. Thank you AWS User Group Jaipur for organizing this amazing event and giving us so much love and knowledge. Looking forward to more exciting events like this.

Thank you for reading the blog. See you next time. Bye ๐Ÿ‘‹

ย